South Programme

Component 4: Promotion of democratic values

Parliamentary Assembly

Following the adoption in 2008 of the Assembly Resolution on "Strengthening co-operation with the Maghreb countries", delegations from the Parliament of Algeria, Jordan, Morocco and Tunisia have been regularly invited to attend plenary sessions of the Assembly.

A Partner for Democracy status, granted to the parliament of Morocco by the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe in June 2011, provides a particularly relevant framework for enhanced co-operation between the Moroccan parliament and the Assembly in areas at the heart of the reforms undertaken by Morocco.

The Partner for Democracy status was also granted to the Palestinian National Council in October 2011. The request submitted to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe in 2013 by Jordan is being evaluated.

Since 2011, the Assembly adopted several resolutions and recommendation on the situation in Tunisia and paid several visits to the country, notably for the observation of the 2014 elections.

For more information.